Government congratulates Saskatchewan athletes

August 13, 2012

The Government of Saskatchewan thanks the Saskatchewan athletes who competed in the 2012 Summer Olympic Games for being wonderful provincial and national ambassadors. Government also wishes to thank the coaches, officials and support staff from our province for their contributions to the Games.

"Congratulations, athletes, on a successful Summer Olympic Games," Parks, Culture and Sport Minister Kevin Doherty said. "Canada might be well-known for its winter sports, but you showed the world that our province and our nation produce skilled summer athletes, too. Coaches, officials and staff, thank you for your dedication to competitive sport."

Three Saskatchewan athletes won Olympic medals. Rower Rachelle Viinberg (Regina) and her teammates won the silver medal in the Women's Eight Rowing competition.

Kaylyn Kyle and Kelly Parker, both from Saskatoon, won bronze medals playing for the Canadian Olympic Women's Soccer team. This is the first Summer Olympic team sport medal for Canada since 1936, when the Summer Olympic Games were held in Berlin.

Seven athletes hailing from Saskatchewan flew to London to compete for Canada.

Cory Niefer (Saskatoon) competed in the Men's 10-metre Air Rifle and 50-Metre Rifle Prone competitions. Krista Phillips (Saskatoon) played basketball for the Canadian Olympic Women's Basketball team. Reuben Ross (Pilot Butte) competed in the Men's Synchronized 3-Metre Springboard Diving competition. Brianne Theisen (Humboldt) competed in the Women's Heptathlon. The Summer Olympic Games wrapped up Sunday, August 12 in London.

The Summer Paralympic Games will take place August 29 to September 9.